Red Envelope Book

I know, I know. It’s been several months since my last entry.  And I was so hoping to wish all of you a Happy New Year in 2011.  Since I missed that date, how about a “Happy Chinese New Year – the Year of the Rabbit”. So here are my best wishes for a Happy and Healthy Chinese New Year!  And a fun book to share in honor of the occasion.

 

Accordion Fold Book with Red Envelopes for Pages

Accordion Fold Spine of Red Envelope Book

This was a little something I made while I was putting off my real work, and that is making more blank journals for some upcoming spring shows. The accordion fold is made from Tyvek which I painted with Jacquard Dynaflow paints to match the various reds of  the envelopes, inside covers  and fabric front and back covers. The paper on both inside covers is Thai mango paper.  The fabric covering the front and back  is recycled from a child’s robe. Here is a photo of the red envelope book closed:

 

Fabric cover of the Red Envelope Book

Back to work now so I can earn some crisp dollars to fill up those envelopes!

2 Responses

  1. Very pretty! Such a little treasure of a book. I can think of all sorts of goodies to put in there along with some cheddar! 😉
    Happy Chinese New Year to you too!

  2. Thank you! It’s good to be back!

Leave a Reply

