Scarf Update

My last post had a  photo of the 5 warp chains that I managed to prepare during my week of being stranded.  I was able to warp my Leclerc 4 harness floor loom with the turquoise warp.  The weave structure is plain weave with warp floats of a bulky slubby cotton yarn.  The warp is a 16/2 cotton that was gifted to me.  I fell in love with the rich turquoise color of this yarn but while warping, several threads broke.  Clearly this yarn was not strong enough to withstand a long warp.  With a bit of tweaking and keeping a close eye on the brake while tensioning, I was able to wrestle control of this yarn. It was worth it.  I used Bambu 7 (there it is again, I love the stuff!) from Woodland Woolworks in the weft.  Bamboo yarn is a bit slippery especially when using it as both warp and weft, but combined with another non-slippery yarn, it weaves easily, and provides a  lovely drape.

cotton and bamboo scarf on the loom

cotton and bamboo scarf on the loom

The warp floats of the slub cotton gives the scarf added texture and color.  The bamboo weaves very quickly.  There is enough warp — 5 yards —  to weave two 72″ long scarves with about 4″ of fringe at each end.  These scarves will be the last projects I will complete before the “Celebration of Fine Craft”, a 3 day show and marketplace at Christian Brothers University in Memphis.  It takes place this Thursday, Friday and Saturday, April 17 – 19. The hours are 10 AM – 7:30 PM Friday including an opening reception beginning at 5:30, 9 AM – 6 PM Saturday, and 12 PM to 5 PM Sunday.  Memphis Association of Craft Artists is partnering with the University to sponsor the fair with the intention of it becoming an annual tradition.

MACA show and marketplace postcard

MACA show and marketplace postcard

There will be over 35 local craft artists showing and selling their products.  Media represented include pottery, jewelry, wood, fiber, clay and metal.  I will be the only weaver there!  The fine art students will be hosting a silent auction of fine craft items donated by the artists to benefit the Fine Art Department’s scholarship fund.

My next projects are just waiting in the wings.  The UPS truck just delivered this:

11 cones of cotton/rayon flax yarn for my next project

11 cones of cotton/rayon/flax yarn for my next project

And, look at this  fine bottle of wine waiting for me.  Love the graphics on the label!

Luchador, a 2006 shiraz

Luchador, a 2006 shiraz from South Australia

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

